Musa, Ighalo, Akinwunmi, Gov. Okowa Emerge Pitch Award Winners; Ordega Dethrones Oshoala

By Daily Sports on June 11, 2019

Views: 1,448

Super Eagles striker and Al Nassr sensation Ahmed Musa and Super Falcons player Francisca Ordega both won the top prizes of King and Queen of the Pitch last night at the 6th award ceremony of the Nigeria Pitch Awards.

The award ceremony which held after the international friendly between the Super Eagles of Nigeria and the Warriors of Zimbabwe was attended by Seyi Akinwunmi, First Vice President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Ahmed Fresh, NFF Board member, Mr. Chiedu Ebie, Secretary to the Delta State Government, Mr. Olayinka Adeleke, State Police Commissioner, Coach, technical crew and members of the Super Eagles.

Speaking at the ceremony, Akinwunmi, who represented NFF President Amaju Pinnick, commended the organisers of the awards, stressing that putting an award together required a lot of effort. He reiterated the support of the Federation for the Pitch Awards.

Mr Shina Philips, President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, expressed appreciation of the organisers to the Federation and the Delta State Government. He said the organisers remained committed to giving Nigerians transparent and credible awards.

“We will continue to do what is right because we believe our players need to be motivated by a transparent and credible reward system which will see then earn the respect of everyone in the football community,” Philips said.

In the Defender of the Year category, William Troost-Ekong of Udinese shrugged off competition from teammates Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo. In the Goalkeeper’s category, Anorthosis Famagusta goalkeeper Francis Uzoho beat last year’s winner, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Enyimba International goalie Theophilus Afelokhai to win the prize for the first time. Leicester City midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi retained the Midfielder of the Year award and Odion Ighalo the Shanghai Shenhua forward was voted the Striker of the Year.

The Sam Okwaraji Award for commitment to Nigeria Football has been one of the high points of previous Awards Ceremonies. Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi, the First Vice President of the NFF and Chairman Lagos FA last night joined Amaju Pinnick and Dr. Ifeanyi Ubah as winners of the prestigious Sam Okwaraji Award. The NFF President had won the previous two editions. Oil giant, Aiteo Group retained the Corporate Sponsor of Football award. Enugu Rangers Coach, Gbenga Ogunbote won the Coach of the Year award while his team carted home the Club of the Year award. Nigeria’s national women team, Super Falcons were voted the Best National Team.

In the media category, Samuel Ahmadu of emerged the maiden winner of the Football Journalist of the Year (Online). Other winners are Johnny Edwards of Complete Sports who was named Football Journalist of the Year (Print), Mozez Praiz of Supersport won the Football Journalist of the Year (TV) and Tony Bekederemo of Brila Sports Radio was voted winner of the Football Journalist of the Year (Radio).

Full List of winners

Goalkeeper of the Year                        -         Francis Odinaka Uzoho

Defender of the Year                           -         William Troost-Ekong

Midfielder of the Year                         -         Wilfred Ndidi

Striker of the Year                               -         Odion Ighalo

MVP in NPFL                                     -         Junior Lokosa

MVP in the NWFL                              -         Rasheedat Ajibade

Queen of the Pitch                               -         Francisca Ordega

King of the Pitch                                  -         Ahmed Musa

Coach of the Year                                -         Gbenga Ogunbote

Club of the Year                                  -         Enugu Rangers

National Team of the Year                   -         Super Falcons

Referee of the Year                              -         Adebimpe Quadri

Sam Okwaraji Awards                         -         Seyi Akinwunmi

State with the Best Grassroots Football Dev. Prog.  - Lagos State

Football Friendly Gov. of the Year      -         Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa

Football Journalist of the Year (Print) -         Johnny Edwards

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio)-         Tony Bekederemo

Football Journalist of the Year (TV)    -         Mozez Praiz

Football Journalist of the Year (Online) -      Samuel Ahmadu

Corporate Sponsor of Football            -         AITEO Group

•Photo shows, from left; Delta State Police Commissioner Adeyinka Adeleke, Super Eagles Captain Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa, 2018 King of the Pitch, Esther-Whyte Bassey, Mr. Chiedu Ebie, Secretary to the Delta State Government and Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi, First Vice President of the NFF at the 6th Nigeria Pitch Award Ceremony in Asaba

Source Daily Sports

Posted June 11, 2019


You may also like...
Solskjaer Preparing To Lose Man Utd Pair Ighalo,...

Xhaka Could Return Against Southampton — Emery

Klopp Surprised By 20-Point Gap To Man City...

NFF Have Paid Super Falcons — Shehu Dikko...

Iheanacho: Rohr under pressure to drop Ighalo, Ideye...

Man Utd Stun PSG to Storm into Champions...


Latest News BAR TAB Lionel Messi heads on holiday with Barcelona pals Cesc Fabregas and Luis Suarez in Ibiza alongside stunning Wags UAM Tillers, DELSU Titans qualify HiFL’s round of 16 Dare splashes N2m on victorious Golden Eaglets, praises NFF Ndugba, Iroegbu lead D’Tigers’ 12-man squad to FIBA African World Cup qualifiers Okagbare’s additional one-year ban has badly depleted our squad, AFN laments Rangers Legend, Miller Urges Aribo To Join Crystal Palace ‘World Cup Qualification More Important Than Winning WAFCON’ —Super Falcons Coach, Waldrum Cech joins list of Chelsea departures Joshua will bomb out Usyk to regain titles, says trainer Djokovic brings curtain up on Wimbledon 2022 WAFU B: Five Eaglets Players Make Team Of The Tournament, Ugbade Named Best Coach NFF Election 2022: The Case Against Amaju Pinnick’s Tenure Elongation Tricks


Most Read Rangers International going, going . . . (49,918 views) Amaju Pinnick: A cat with nine lives (41,103 views) Second Term: Amaju Pinnick, Other NFF Heavyweights Home to Roost •How Pinnick Broke the Jinx (39,529 views) Missing $150,000 IAAF Grant: Solomon Dalung’s Hide and Seek game (39,505 views) Sports Development: Zenith Bank on the zenith (39,242 views) Gov. Abdullahi Ganduje’s solid footprints, commitment to sports development in Kano State (39,074 views) Current issues in Nigerian sports: Matters arising (38,801 views) NFF Presidency: Pinnick, Maigari, Ogunjobi, Okoye in Battle for Supremacy (38,182 views) Olopade, BET9A wave of revolution in NNL (37,562 views) Commonwealth Games 2018: Shame of Muhammadu Buhari, Solomon Dalung (36,477 views) Ibrahimovic’s Man U exit: Whose decision is it? And in whose interest? (34,838 views) John Mikel Obi: Segun Odegbami’s Outrageous Call! (34,298 views)




News Athletics (419) Basketball (302) Boxing (725) Columnists (670) Euro Soccer Update (13611) Fans Assembly (6) From the Grassroots (68) Golf (121) Interviews (17) Live Commentary (7) News (8097) NPL Glo Premier League (1316) People and Places (22) Readers Parliament (10) Tennis (930)




Phone numbers

Tel: +234(0)8066020976

Email addresses

Office address

No 3, Adetoun Close, Off College Road, Ogba, Ikeja Lagos.

Social Media